To help us continually offer you the best experience on and help us manage the site, we and carefully selected third parties will store some information on your computer using cookies. Only by allowing us to store cookies on your computer can you browse the website and see the entire range of our great products. To find out more about what cookies are, the type this site uses and how to delete them, please read our privacy notice.

New Reader?

Getting Started

First of all, welcome!

If you are a new reader sometimes it can be a little confusing as to where to start, or even to understand what the worlds of Warhammer and Warhammer 40,000 are all about. So with that in mind here is a brief guide, along with some suggestions ...


Warhammer 40,000

Warhammer 40,000

Warhammer 40,000 is set in a dystopic science fantasy universe. In this grim, dark future there is no peace amongst the stars, only an eternity of carnage and slaughter. It appeals to readers of science fiction and military science fiction.
The 41st millennium is a savage future age where mankind must battle for survival in a galaxy torn asunder by bloodshed and destruction. Humanity teeters on the brink of extinction, assailed on all sides by aliens, traitors and daemons, and only the superhuman strength of the Space Marines and the uncountable numbers of the Imperial Guard stand between the slavering alien hordes and total annihilation.

Space Marines

The Space Marines of the Adeptus Astartes are fearless champions of humanity. Genetic modification and psycho-conditioning has made them superior to Men in all respects. These superhuman, weapons of war are mankind’s most elite fighting force

Assault on Black ReachWhen the planet of Black Reach is invaded by a mighty ork horde, the Ultramarines must act fast. If the orks gain a foothold in the system, they could spread, and threaten the entire sector. As the Ultramarines attack in their righteous fury, the scene is set for a classic battle - one hundred Space Marines versus fifty thousand orks! The companion novel to the Warhammer 40,000 boxed game Assault on Black Reach offers the perfect introduction to the Warhammer 40,000 setting.

Heroes of the Space MarinesFeaturing ten short stories about the brave champions of humanity, the Space Marines, and their dark counterparts, the Chaos Space Marines, the novel offers a great introduction to some of Warhammner 40,000’s best authors including Graham McNeill, Gav Thorpe and Aaron Dembski-Bowden and introduces you to Space Marine chapters including the Iron Warriors, the Imperial Fists, Deathwatch and the Night Lords.

Imperial Guard

Across countless warzones, the armies of the Imperial Guard fight a desperate war to hold back humanity's enemies; aliens, heretics, mutants and worse. The Imperial Guard forms the regular infantry of Warhammer 40,000 consisting of many individual armies throughout the Imperium, and forming the vast bulk of the Imperium's military machine.

Dan Abnett's novels for the Black Library have sold more than a million copies and this book takes us back to where it all began. Collecting the first three novels of the Gaunt’s Ghosts series, First and Only, Ghostmaker and Necropolis, this is a great introductory novel for fans of military science fiction who may not yet be familiar with the Warhammer 40,000 setting.

The Inquisition

The Inquisition is a secretive body, founded in the earliest days of the Imperium, to defend humanity against the alien, the witch and the heretic. Such is the power and authority wielded by an Inquisitor; he can call upon the services of every branch of the Imperium's armed forces, even the mighty Space Marines should the threat be great enough.

EisenhornPart detective story, part interplanetary epic, Xenos, Malleus, Hereticus and the two linking stories that make up this omnibus are amongst the very best tales ever told by the Black Library. Written by Gaunt's Ghosts creator Dan Abnett, this volume charts the career of Inquisitor Gregor Eisenhorn as he changes from being a zealous upholder of the truth to collaborating with the very powers he once swore to destroy!


Horus Heresy

Horus Heresy

It is the 31st millennium. Under the benevolent leadership of the Immortal Emperor, the Imperium of Man has stretched out across the galaxy. It is a golden age of discovery and conquest.

Set 10,000 years before the timeline of Warhammer 40,000, the Horus Heresy series tells of the galaxy-spanning civil war that threatens to bring about the extinction of humanity as the traitorous Warmaster Horus turns his forces against his father, the Emperor.

As the flames of war spread across the galaxy, mankind’s champions will be put to the ultimate test, as brother faces brother and the universe trembles with the beat of war.

Horus RisingHorus Rising is the first chapter in this epic tale, detailing the rise to power of the Emperor’s favourite son, Horus. This novel sees Horus promoted to Warmaster and entrusted with the Emperor’s Great Crusade, but unbeknownst to him, dark forces are at work.  

Tales of HeresyTales of Heresy features seven short stories set during the Horus Heresy by star authors including Dan Abnett, Graham McNeill and James Swallow, it’s an ideal introduction to the Horus Heresy series.




Warhammer is a dark and gritty fantasy setting. The world of Warhammer is a land sundered by bitter strife and deadly conflict. Every realm and kingdom is riven by war and destruction, a battleground for mighty armies that advance to the beat of sonorous war-drums and the braying call of trumpets. Warhammer appeals to readers of epic fantasy.

Death & DishonourA collection of nine fantasy stories introducing some of Warhammer’s most legendary heroes including Gotrek & Felix and Brunner the Bounty Hunter and some of Black Library’s most legendary fantasy authors including Nathan Long, Anthony Reynolds and CL Werner.There is little honour in these dark tales, but many shades of evil.

Battle for Skull PassThe perfect introduction to the Warhammer world, the novel Battle for Skull Pass brings the Warhammer boxed game of the same name, in which the dwarfs fight an eternal battle against their greenskin enemies, the orcs and the goblins, to life.

Gotrek & Felix : The First OmnibusIn the annals of the Old World there is no tale greater than the death saga of Gotrek Gurnisson. Seeking retribution for a past sin by dying a glorious death in battle, the battle weary dwarf journeys through the Old World seeking a foe worth enough to best him in combat, chronicling his exploits is human poet Felix Jaeger, a fugitive from the authorities who only has to stay alive to tell the tale. This episodic series of novels features some of the most extraordinary adventures of this deadly pair of heroes. Monsters, daemons, sorcerers, mutants, orcs, beastmen and worse are to be found as Gotrek strives to achieve a noble death in battle.


Time of Legends

Time of Legends

The Warhammer world is founded upon the exploits of brave heroes, and the rise and fall of powerful enemies. Now for the first time the tales of these mythical events are brought to life in a new series of books. Divided into a series of trilogies, each brings you hitherto untold details of the lives and times of the most legendary of all Warhammer heroes and villains. Combined together they will also begin to reveal some of the hidden connections that underpin all of the history of the Warhammer world.

HeldenhammerThe novel is a great starting point for all fans of heroic fantasy. Before he became a god, Sigmar was a man, albeit an exceptional one. Heldenhammer begins the story of how Sigmar rose to power and his campaign to unite the disparate tribes of the future Empire either by diplomacy or conquest.