WARHAMMER 40,000 CODEX:

DARK ELDAR

Official Update for 7th Edition, Version 1.2

Although we strive to ensure that our rules are perfect,
sometimes mistakes do creep in, or the intent of a rule
isn’t as clear as it might be. These documents collect
amendments to the rules and present our responses to
players’ frequently asked questions. As they’re updated
regularly, each has a version number; when changes
are made, the version number will be updated, and any
changes from the previous version will be highlighted
in magenta. Where a version number has a letter,

e.g. l.1a, this means it has had a local update, only in
that language, to clarify a translation issue or other
minor correction.

ERRATA

Page 69 — Weapons of Torture

Change the introductory sentence to:

‘A model may replace their Melee weapon with one of
the following:’

Page 72 — Succubus, Options
Change the first option to:
‘e May replace close combat weapon or
splinter pistol with an archite glaive..................... 20 pts

Page 109 — Artefacts of Cruelty, The Archangel of Pain
Change the final sentence of the second paragraph

to read:

‘Wounds cannot be allocated to models with the Fearless
or And They Shall Know No Fear special rules (any
excess Wounds are lost).’

FAQs

Q: Is a shadow field lost if a model suffers an unsaved Wound
that is subsequently discounted due to a successful Feel No
Pain roll?

A: Yes

Q: If a model with a soul-trap inflicts a single unsaved Wound
with the Instant Death special rule upon an enemy character
with 3 Wounds remaining, does the bearer gain +1 Strength (for
inflicting a single unsaved Wound) or +3 Strength (for causing
the enemy character to lose 3 Wounds)?

A: It gains +1 Strength for inflicting a single

unsaved Wound.

Q: What is the firing arc of a Venom’s weapons?
A: They are both hull-mounted weapons and therefore
have a 45° arc facing forwards.

Q: In a Dark Eldar/Eldar alliance, does a webway portal allow
you to use Gate of Infinity without scattering?
A: No. The webway portal only works when its unit is

arriving from Deep Strike Reserve. A unit targeted by
Gate of Infinity uses the rules for Deep Striking, but they
are not arriving from Deep Strike Reserve when they
do so.

Q: Does the Dark Eldar webway portal prevent a Transport the

bearer is occupying from scattering during Deep Strike?
A: Yes.

Q: Can I take a Court of the Archon as an HQ unit without
an Archon?
A: Yes.

Q: As they are upgrades to Kabalite Warriors and do not
have their own datasheet, do Kabalite Trueborn still count
as Kabalite Warriors for the purposes of the Kabalite Raiding
Party Formation?

A: Yes.

Q: If I have an Archon from Codex: Dark Eldar in a unit of
Grotesques from the Haemonculus Covens supplement, do
they benefit from each other’s different Power From Pain tables?
A: No. The Archon and the Grotesques use their own
Power From Pain rules. However, in your example the
Archon would benefit from the Grotesques’ Fearless rule
from the second game turn, and from the fifth game
turn the Archon would benefit from the Grotesques’
Zealot rule, as these are special rules which affect a unit
if even a single model in the unit has that rule.

Q: There is a Diabolical Plaything called the Orbs of Despair.
1t is printed as having Strength 1, AP2, Instant Death and
costs 25 points. In a previous edition this weapon had a higher

Strength value. Are the statistics on the newer version correct?
A: Yes.
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