WARHAMMER 40,000 CODEX:
CHAOS SPACE MARINES

Official Update for 7th Edition, Version 1.2

Although we strive to ensure that our rules are perfect,
sometimes mistakes do creep in, or the intent of a rule
isn’t as clear as it might be. These documents collect
amendments to the rules and present our responses to
players’ frequently asked questions. As they’re updated
regularly, each has a version number; when changes
are made, the version number will be updated, and any
changes from the previous version will be highlighted
in magenta. Where a version number has a letter,

e.g. l.1a, this means it has had a local update, only in
that language, to clarify a translation issue or other
minor correction.

AMENDMENTS

Various — Psykers

Any model with the Psyker special rule may generate
powers from the Daemonology discipline in addition to
the others listed in their Army List Entries.

Page 29, 104 — Witch-eater, rules
Replace ‘Deny the Witch roll” with ‘Deny the Witch test’.

Page 60 — The Black Staff of Ahriman, rules

The second sentence should be replaced with:

‘It allows Ahriman to attempt to manifest the same
witchfire power up to three times per Psychic phase’.

ERRATA

Various — Helbrute

Increase the Attacks (A) characteristic of the Helbrute
by 2 on all appropriate profiles.

Page 57 — Abaddon the Despoiler, Mark of

Chaos Ascendent

Add the following sentence:

‘If Abaddon rolls Spawnhood or Dark Apotheosis on the
Chaos Boon Table, re-roll this result (and any further
results of the same). The Despoiler is not meant for
Daemonhood just yet!’

Page 61 — Typhus, Plague Zombies

Change the second sentence to read ‘Plague Zombies
are Chaos Cultists that have the Fearless, Feel No Pain
and Slow and Purposeful special rules and cannot
purchase options other than to add additional models to
the unit.’

Page 68 — Chaos Vehicle Equipment, Magma Cutters
Change the rules text to read:

‘If a Maulerfiend hits with at least one Attack in the
Fight sub-phase, it may make an additional Attack with
one of its magma cutters against one of the units it

hit. If it hit with all of its Attacks, it instead makes two
additional Attacks with its magma cutters against one of
the units it hit. These Attacks hit automatically and are
resolved at Initiative 1 with the following profile:

Range S AP Type
- 8 1 Armourbane’

Page 69 — Axe of Blind Fury, rules
Change first sentence to ‘Models with the Mark of
Khorne, or Daemons of Khorne, only.’

Page 91 — superscript note 5
Change to ‘Models with the Mark of Khorne, or
Daemons of Khorne, only.’

Page 94 — Daemon Prince, Options
Change the first bullet point to ‘Must be upgraded to be
one of the following:’

Page 97 — Chaos Terminators, Options, second
bullet point

Change to ‘Any Chaos Terminator may choose any of
the following three options:’

Page 97 — Helbrute
Change the unit’s points value to 100 points.

Page 98 — Plague Marines, Plague Knife

Add the following Designer’s Note:

‘Note that, for the purposes of the Plague Champion
purchasing items from the Melee Weapons section of
the wargear list, his Plague Knife can be exchanged in
the same fashion as a close combat weapon.’

Page 99 — Noise Marines, Wargear
Add ‘Close combat weapon (Champion only)’

Page 99 — Noise Marines, Options

Change the third bullet point to ‘One Noise Marine may
replace his boltgun with a blastmaster at 30 pts/model.
If the squad numbers ten or more models, an additional
Noise Marine may replace his boltgun with a blastmaster
at 30 pts/model’

FAQs

Q: Does a Warpsmith need a To Hit roll of 6 (as if taking a
Snap Shot) when using his Master of Mechanisms special rule
to curse a Zooming Flyer? (pg 34)

A: Yes.

WARHAMMER 40,000: CHAOS SPACE MARINES 1



Q: How do I determine the Arc of Sight for a Heldrake’s ranged
weapon? (pg 52)

A: Treat the Heldrake’s ranged weapon as a hull
mounted weapon, measuring all ranges and line of sight
from the barrel of the gun.

Q: A Heldrake has one ranged weapon; if it opts to Vector Strike
in the Movement phase, is it still able to fire its weapon in the
Shooting phase?

A: Yes.

Q: Does Abaddon the Despoiler’s Mark of Chaos Ascendant
prevent him from joining friendly units chosen from Codex:
Chaos Space Marines that have a Mark of Chaos? (pg 57)
A: No.

Q: Is a model equipped with the Scrolls of Magnus, that does
not begin the game as a Psyker, considered to have become a
Psyker once they acquire one or more additional psychic powers
Jrom the scrolls? For example a Dark Apostle with the Mark of
Tzeentch. (pg 69)

A: Yes, the model has the Psyker special rule from that
point onward, and is considered to have Mastery Level 1.

Q: For Chaos Space Marine Sorcerers with a Mark of Chaos,
does the new rule of automatically getting the primaris power
of your god’s mark fulfil the requirement that a Sorcerer with
a mark must generate one psychic power from his patron’s
psychic table?

A: No. They must generate one power from their
patron’s discipline. They can generate all other powers
(if they are Mastery Level 2 or higher) from another
discipline, and they will also know the primaris power
of their patron’s discipline because of the Chaos Psychic
Focus rule.

Q: Can Thousand Sons Aspiring Sorcerers generale their power
Jfrom the Daemonology discipline instead of the Discipline

of Trzeentch?

A: No. However, Chaos Psychic Focus means they

will also have the primaris power from the Discipline

of Tzeentch.

Q: Kharn’s attacks always hit on a 2+ in close combat due to
Gorechild. If he attacks a unit that has the Invisibility power
cast wpon it, does he still hit on 2+2

A:Yes.

Q: Chaos Space Marine Super-heavy vehicles can take
Daemonic Possession for 30 points. However, being a Super-
heavy vehicle they already ignore Crew Stunned and Crew
Shaken results, but still take the -1 Ballistic Skill penalty. Is
there an update missing from the Daemonic Possession rules
regarding Super-heavy vehicles?

A: This vehicle upgrade is included for completeness’
sake only.

Q: When using a Spell Familiar to re-roll a failed Psychic test,
do you re-roll all of the dice you used to attempt to manifest the

power or only the dice that failed to get a 4+?
A:You re-roll all of the dice.

Q: Does a Spell Familiar allow you to re-roll the Psychic test if
you get Perils of the Warp result?

A: Only if your Psyker failed to manifest the psychic
power in question. If the psychic power is manifested,
the test wasn’t failed, so the Spell Familiar’s rule
doesn’t apply.

Q: Is a baleflamer considered to be a flamer weapon?
A: No.

Q: Does the Champions of Chaos special rule work only in the
Assault phase, or does it apply in the Shooting phase as well?
A: A character with the Champions of Chaos rule rolls
on the Chaos Boon table when they kill an enemy
character, whether this is in the Shooting phase, Fight
sub-phase, or even with Overwatch fire. The only
exception is that you don’t get to roll on the Chaos Boon
table for a character killed by a Sweeping Advance.

Q: Does the mutation from the Possessed’s Vessels of Chaos
special rule last until the end of the game turn or player turn?
A: Until the end of the player turn.

Q: How do Feel No Pain or Reanimation Protocols rolls interact
with the Black Mace?

A: If any model suffers an unsaved Wound from the
Black Mace (other than one caused by its Cursed special
rule), then it would make a Feel No Pain or Reanimation
Protocol roll before the Toughness test is taken. If the
roll is passed, no Toughness test is taken and the Wound
is discounted. If a model is forced to take a Toughness
test at the end of the phase by the Cursed special rule,
Feel No Pain and Reanimation Protocol rolls are made
after a failed Toughness test —i.e. when the model would
otherwise suffer an unsaved Wound.

Q: Be'lakor was updated in War Zone Fenris: Curse of the
Wulfen; is he still an available HQ choice for a Chaos Space
Marines army?

A:Yes, if you have the Be’lakor dataslate.

HELBRUTE DATASLATE
Q: Does the 3+ cover save that the Helcult Formation’s Helbrute

gels apply in close combat?
A: No.

Q: How do the Chaos Boons that give Toughness, Wounds

and other non-applicable characteristic bonuses work when

you roll them for a Helbrute? (You get the roll by casting Gift of
Mutation on the Helbrute Champion — which has the Vehicle
(character) unit type — from the Helfist Murderpack Formation.)
A: The roll has no effect if you roll one of these results.
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Q: What is the maximum charge range of a Helbrute that

has just performed a Deep Strike as part of the Mayhem Pack
Formation —is it 12" or 0"?

A: Units that have arrived from Deep Strike Reserve
cannot charge in the turn they do so, unless a rule
explicitly states otherwise. Once the Helbrutes have
arrived from Deep Strike Reserve, roll on the Crazed
table for them and apply the result as normal — for the
purposes of Blood Rage the Helbrutes’ charge range is
still considered to be 12".
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