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Although we strive to ensure that our rules are perfect, 
sometimes mistakes do creep in, or the intent of a rule 
isn’t as clear as it might be. These documents collect 
amendments to the rules and present our responses to 
players’ frequently asked questions. As they’re updated 
regularly, each has a version number; when changes 
are made, the version number will be updated, and any 
changes from the previous version will be highlighted 
in magenta. Where a version number has a letter, 
e.g. 1.1a, this means it has had a local update, only in 
that language, to clarify a translation issue or other 
minor correction.

AMENDMENTS
Various – Psykers
Any model with the Psyker or Brotherhood of Sorcerers 
special rule may generate powers from the Daemonology 
discipline in addition to the others listed in their Army 
List Entries. 

Page 32 – Blood Thrones of Khorne
Replace ‘TRANSPORT CAPACITY: 1 (Herald of 
Khorne)’ with ‘RIDER: Herald of Khorne (pg 29).’

Page 32 – Blood Thrones of Khorne
Add the following under Special Rules:
‘Bloodletter Crew: This model makes 2 additional 
Strength 4 AP3 Attacks in each Assault phase resolved at 
Weapon Skill 5. These Attacks are made at the Initiative 
4 step (though this does not grant an extra Pile In 
move). On a turn in which this model charged, the 
Strength of these Attacks is increased to 5.’

Page 33 – Skull Cannons of Khorne
Add the following under Special Rules:
‘Bloodletter Crew: This model makes 2 additional 
Strength 4 AP3 Attacks in each Assault phase resolved at 
Weapon Skill 5. These Attacks are made at Initiative step 
4 (though this does not grant an extra Pile In move). 
On a turn in which this model charged, the Strength of 
these Attacks is increased to 5.’

Page 40 – Burning Chariots of Tzeentch
Replace ‘TRANSPORT CAPACITY: 1 (Exalted Flamer 
or Herald of Tzeentch)’ with ‘RIDER: Exalted Flamer.’

Page 42 – The Two Heads of Fate
Amend the third sentence to read as follows:
‘In addition, the right head also randomly generates 
one power each from the Pyromancy, Divination and 
Daemonology (Malefic) disciplines; the left head also 
randomly generates one power each from the Telepathy, 
Biomancy and Daemonology (Malefic) disciplines.’

Page 43 – Scrolls of Sorcery
Replace with the following:
‘At the start of each friendly Psychic Phase, choose a 
Psychic Discipline from Warhammer 40,000: The Rules 
and roll a D6 – this turn the Blue Scribes automatically 
manifest that power without the need for a psychic test 
(they cannot swap it for the Primaris Power). This power 
is treated as having been manifested by the minimum 
amount of Warp charge points required to manifest the 
power, for the purposes of Deny the Witch rolls. Note 
that the Blue Scribes are not Psykers for the purposes of 
any special rules that target Psykers.’

Page 55 – Seeker Chariots of Slaanesh
Replace ‘TRANSPORT CAPACITY: 1 (Exalted Alluress 
or Herald of Slaanesh)’ with ‘RIDER: Exalted Alluress.’
Please ignore the Designer’s note.

Page 56 – Hellflayers of Slaanesh
Replace ‘TRANSPORT CAPACITY: 1 (Exalted 
Alluress)’ with ‘RIDER: Exalted Alluress.’

Page 57 – Disruptive Song
Replace this rule with the following:
‘Disruptive Song: Enemy Psykers suffer a -1 penalty to 
their Leadership whilst they are within 12" of at least 
one Fiend of Slaanesh.’

Page 91, 92, 93 – Lord of Blood, Lord of Fate, Lord of 
Plague and Lord of Secrets
Replace ‘your army’ with ‘a detachment’ in all instances. 
Add ‘…in that detachment.’ to the end of the sentence 
in all instances.

Page 94 – Heralds of Chaos
Delete the word ‘primary’ from the first sentence, and 
add ‘Exalted Flamer of Tzeentch’ to the list of Heralds 
that can be chosen.
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Page 96 – HQ 
Add the following Army List Entry:
‘Exalted Flamer of Tzeentch���������������������������������� 50 Points
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Exalted Flamer	 4	 4	 4	 4	 3	 4	 3	 7	 -

BATTLEFIELD ROLE: HQ (Counts as one Herald).
UNIT TYPE: Jump Infantry (Character).
UNIT COMPOSITION: 1
DAEMONIC GIFTS: Blue Fire of Tzeentch,
Pink Fire of Tzeentch (pg 61).
SPECIAL RULES: Daemon of Tzeentch,
Daemonic Instability, Deep Strike,
Independent Character, Warpflame (pg 61).’

Page 98 – Blood Throne of Khorne
Add the following under Special Rules:
‘Bloodletter Crew’

Page 102 – Skull Cannon of Khorne
Add the following under Special Rules:
‘Bloodletter Crew’

ERRATA
Page 40 – Unit Type
Change the Unit Type of the Exalted Flamer to:
‘Jump Infantry (Character)’

Page 58 – Command Benefits, Daemonic Corruption
Change the first sentence to read:
‘Any Objective Markers controlled by units from this 
Detachment at the end of your turn count as being 
under your control for the rest of the game, even if you 
have no units within 3" of them. A unit can only corrupt 
a single Objective Marker in this manner at the end of 
each of your turns.’

Page 58 – Command Benefits
Add the following Command Benefit:
‘Patronage of the Dark Gods: Psykers from this 
Detachment can choose to generate all of their psychic 
powers from the Discipline of Change, Plague or Excess 
(as appropriate) if they wish. However, if they do so, 
then the rules for Chaos Focus (see Warhammer 40,000: 
The Rules) no longer apply to them; they follow the 
normal rules for Psychic Focus instead.’

Page 93 – Daemon Prince, Options
Change the first line of the fifth bullet point to:
‘A Daemon Prince that is not a Daemon of Khorne may 
take one of the following:’

Page 94 – Herald of Khorne
Add a final line to the Herald of Khorne’s options:
‘If a Herald of Khorne takes a Blood Throne of Khorne 
upgrade, the Herald becomes the chariot’s rider and 
loses the Independent Character special rule.’

Page 95 – Herald of Tzeentch
Add a final line to the Herald of Tzeentch’s options:
‘If a Herald of Tzeentch takes a Burning Chariot of 
Tzeentch upgrade, the Herald becomes the chariot’s 
rider and loses the Independent Character special rule. 
The Herald replaces the Exalted Flamer.’

Page 94 – Herald of Slaanesh
Add a final line to the Herald of Slaanesh’s options:
‘If a Herald of Slaanesh takes a Seeker Chariot or 
Exalted Seeker Chariot upgrade the Herald becomes 
the chariot’s rider and loses the Independent Character 
special rule. In both cases, the Herald replaces the 
Exalted Alluress.’

Page 102 – Burning Chariot of Tzeentch, Exalted 
Flamer, Unit Type
Change the Unit Type to:
‘Jump Infantry (Character)’

FAQs
Q: How does the Daemon of Tzeentch rule work in the 
Psychic phase?
A: As Daemons of Tzeentch gain +3 Leadership while 
manifesting psychic powers, they are more resistant to 
many effects should they suffer Perils of the Warp.

Q: If a Chaos Daemon Psyker generates all of their powers from 
a single discipline from Warhammer 40,000: The Rules, 
does he benefit from Psychic Focus in addition to Chaos Psychic 
Focus (as the mandatory primaris power from Chaos Psychic 
Focus isn’t generated as such)?
A: Yes.

Q: Tzeentch Warpflame – does the Feel No Pain gained 
by an enemy unit who passes a Toughness test stack with 
successive applications?
A: Yes, although this cannot be improved beyond Feel 
No Pain (2+).

Q: For Flickering Fire of Tzeentch (the primaris power of the 
Discipline of Change), do you have to declare how many Warp 
Charge points are being used with the power before rolling for 
the Psychic test?
A: Yes, you must declare whether you mean to harness 1, 
2 or 3 Warp Charge points before rolling.

Q: Can Kairos Fateweaver still use his Staff of Tomorrow re-roll 
when he is in Reserve?
A: No.

Q: In Warhammer 40,000, Skull Cannons of Khorne have two 
Bloodletters. In the Assault phase, do you only have to kill those 
two to remove the model, like killing the rider of a Chariot? 
A: You cannot target the Bloodletters – they are 
considered to be part of the Skull Cannon, not riders. 
To destroy a Skull Cannon in the Fight sub-phase, 
you have to attack the Skull Cannon, and hits will be 
resolved against its front armour as with other Chariots.



3WARHAMMER 40,000: CHAOS DAEMONS

Q: When a unit in Reserve with an Instrument of Chaos 
makes a succesful Reserve Roll, it can choose a unit in Deep 
Strike Reserve to arrive automatically. If the chosen unit has 
an Instrument of Chaos, can it choose another unit to arrive 
automatically, and so on?
A: No. No roll is made for the unit chosen to arrive 
automatically, and an Instrument of Chaos’ special rule 
is only triggered by a successful Reserve Roll.

Q: Can Daemons charge in the turn in which they 
are summoned?
A: No.

Q: Can a Daemon’s invulnerable save be improved to better 
than 2+ (through the effect of psychic powers and other abilities 
which improve invulnerable saves)?
A: No. 

Q: What’s the movement in inches for the Skull Cannons and 
Blood Thrones of Khorne?
A: They are Chariots, which move following the same 
rules as vehicles of their type. This means that they have 
a Combat Speed of up to 6" and a Cruising Speed of 
between 6" and 12".

Q: Are the Blue Scribes affected by Daemonology (Malefic) 
powers that target the Psyker, since they themselves are not 
Psykers? Specifically, would they be removed as a casualty 
of Possession?
A: Although they are not Psykers, they are considered 
to be a Psyker when manifesting a psychic power 
(otherwise they wouldn’t be able to benefit from 
blessings like Cursed Earth, for example). This means 
that if they manifest Sacrifice they will be wounded 
(unless you choose another friendly model within 6" to 
take the Wound) and if they manifest Possession they 
will be removed as casualties.

Q: Keepers of Secrets have Preferred Enemy (Eldar & Dark 
Eldar) – what about Harlequins and Corsairs?
A: The rule applies to all kinds of Eldar, including 
Harlequins and Corsairs.

Q: Can you take the Masque of Slaanesh as part of the Heralds 
of Chaos?
A: No. She has fallen out of favour with Slaanesh, so is 
not treated the same as the other Heralds.

Q: Can the Masque of Slaanesh use her powers through the Fire 
Points of buildings?
A: No.

Q: Should the Lash of Despair have Rending?
A: No.

Q: Nurglings have defensive grenades through the Daemon 
of Nurgle special rule, but you can only use grenades instead 
of another shooting weapon. As Nurglings have no shooting 
weapons, does this mean that they cannot throw their grenades?
A: No. One base of Nurglings in a unit can throw a 
defensive grenade in their Shooting phase (though 
it’s best not to think too hard about precisely what it is 
they’re throwing).

Q: According to the rules, ‘friendly units’ are all units under 
your control. Does that mean that a model can target itself with 
an ability or equipment that targets friendly units, like the 
Grimoire of True Names?
A: Yes (although in this instance, the Grimoire of True 
Names has no effect on the bearer).


