AN UNEXPECTED JOURNEY

STRATEGY BATTLE GAME

Moria™ & angmar™ Sourcesook Official Update Version 1.2

Although we strive to ensure that our books are perfect, sometimes
mistakes do creep in. When such issues arise we feel that it is
important to deal with them as promptly as we can, and we
therefore produce regular updates for all of our books. When
changes are made, the version number will be updated, and any
changes from the previous version will be highlighted in magenta.
Where a version number has a letter, e.g. 1.1a, this means it has had
a local update, only in that language, to clarify a translation issue or
other minor correction.

This update is split into three sections: Errata, Amendments and
‘Frequently Asked Questions’. The Errata corrects any mistakes in
the book, while the Amendments bring the book up to date with
the latest version of the rules. The Frequently Asked Questions
(or 'FAQ') section answers commonly asked questions about the
rules. These questions have been gathered from many sources. We
are always happy to consider more questions, so please send any
queries to:

gamefaqs@gwplc.com

Although you can mark corrections directly in your book, this is by
no means necessary - just keep a copy of the update with your book.

ErRrRaca

Page 24 - Spider Queen, Venom

Change the special rule’s effects to read: ‘A Spider Queen must
re-roll any failed To Wound rolls when making Strikes in the Fight
phase. Note that this does not apply to Brutal Power Attacks.’

amendments

Whenever a model's special rule entry states 'See main rules
manual', refer to The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey™ rules manual.
Any Heroes with magical powers should use the rules for each of
their powers as described in The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey™ rules
manual. They are also free to expend Might points to cast the more
powerful versions of these powers through Heroic Channelling.

Page 22 - Cave Drake, Gaping Maw
At the beginning of the second paragraph, add the following
sentence: 'Gaping Maw is a Brutal Power Attack.'

Page 28 - Dweller in the Dark, Murderous Power

At the end of the paragraph, add the following sentence: 'Rend is
the only Brutal Power Attack that enables a Dweller in the Dark to
regain a Wound in this manner.'

fags

For all FAQs on the Points Match Game Scenarios, please consult
the official FAQs & Errata document for The Hobbit: An Unexpected
Journey™ rules manual.

Optional Upgrades

Q: Can you give models such as Black Niimendreans, Haradrim Warriors
or Wood EIf Warriors more than one title-based upgrade (for example,
can a Wood EIf Warrior be upgraded to a Noldorin Exile that is also a
Mirkwood Guard)? (var.)

A: No.

Adding Allies, Stand Fast!

Q: Can a successful Stand Fast! roll from a Hero in one warband affect
the Courage tests of Warriors from an allies warband? (pg 6)
A: Yes.

Heroes of Moria

Q: If a Goblin Shaman has cast the Channelled version of Fury, will
Goblins pass their special Fate saves from Fury on a 4+ if Groblog is alive
due to his Mithril Crown? (pg 17)

A: No.

Q: If a Gundabad Blackshield Shaman shatters a model's weapons, can that
model now use a shield if they had a bow or two-handed weapon? (pg 19)
A: Yes.

Q: Does a Cave Drake gain the Extra Attack bonus when charging? (pg 22)
A: No.

Q: If a Spider Queen spawns broodlings during a Heroic Move do the
broodlings benefit from the Heroic Move? (pg 24)
A: No.
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Q: Does the Spider Queen gain the cavalry charge bonus when charging
whilst in difficult terrain? (pg 24)

A: No. The Spider Queen's rules state that she moves at full speed
through difficult ground, but does not create an exception for
charging.

Q: Can broodlings be launched if the Spider Queen has already been
charged that turn? (pg 24)
A: No, as stated, they can be used within her own move.

Q: Can broodlings be launched during a move following a Heroic Combat
action? (pg 24)
A: No, only during the actual Move phase of the game.

Warriors of Moria

Q. If a model is under the effect of a Bat Swarm’s Blinding Swarm special
rule and the model also Feints, how does this affect the model’s Fight
value? (pg 26)

A: The model’s fight value is halved by the Blinding Swarm special
rule, then reduced by a further D3 for using the Feint special strike.

Q: If you have Wild Wargs in your army, can an Orc mount one, making
it a cavalry model? If so, can a model mount a Warg Chieftain? (pg 28)
A: No to both questions.

Q: If a Dweller in the Dark Hurls a model as part of a Brutal Power
Attack, does he get a Wound back as part of his Murderous Power special
rule if the hurled model and/or any other models the hurled model passes
through are slain? (pg 28)

A: No.

Heroes of Angmar

Q: If the Witch-king of Angmar uses his Morgul Blade on the turn he
charges while mounted on a horse/armoured horse, do all his attacks that
turn count as Morgul Blade attacks? (pg 31)

A: Yes.

Q: Can the Witch-king of Angmar's Morgul Blade be used in conjunction
with his Fell Beast's Attacks and Strength characteristics? If so, when he
wins a Fight and knocks his opponent over, will all 6 Attacks benefit from
the Morgul Blade's special rules? (pg 31)

A: No. If you wish to use the Morgul Blade, you must use the Witch-
king of Angmar's Strength and Attacks values, though he may still
double his Attacks if his opponent has been knocked to the ground.

Q: How does the Dwimmerlaik's Sap Fortitude ability interact with the
Resistant to Magic special rule? (pg 32)

A: The Resistant to Magic special rule does not require the
expenditure of Will points, so the proximity of the Dwimmerlaik
will have no effect.

Q: If Galavhar, the Terror of Arnor, Hurls a model as part of a Brutal
Power Attack, does he get a Wound back as part of his Immortal Hunger
special rule if the hurled model and/or any other models the hurled model
passes through are slain? (pg 33)

A: No.

Q: Can Shades and Spectres combine their respective Blades of the Dead
and Spectral Blades special rules with a special strike? (pg 34, 36)

A: No.

Warriors of Angmar

Q: Can the A Fell Light Is In Them rule be used to move an enemy model

out of engagement with a friendly model? (pg 36)
A: No.
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