AN UNEXPECTED JOURNEY

STRATEGY BATTLE GAME

MORIOR™ Sourcerook Official Update Version 1.2

Although we strive to ensure that our books are perfect, sometimes
mistakes do creep in. When such issues arise we feel that it is
important to deal with them as promptly as we can, and we
therefore produce regular updates for all of our books. When
changes are made, the version number will be updated, and any
changes from the previous version will be highlighted in magenta.
Where a version number has a letter, e.g. 1.1a, this means it has had
a local update, only in that language, to clarify a translation issue or
other minor correction.

This update is split into three sections: Errata, Amendments and
‘Frequently Asked Questions’. The Errata corrects any mistakes in
the book, while the Amendments bring the book up to date with
the latest version of the rules. The Frequently Asked Questions
(or 'FAQ') section answers commonly asked questions about the
rules. These questions have been gathered from many sources. We
are always happy to consider more questions, so please send any
queries to:

gamefaqs@gwplc.com

Although you can mark corrections directly in your book, this
is by no means necessary - just keep a copy of the update with
your book.

ErRrRaca
Page 19 - Gollum™, Unit Entry
Change to be an Independent Hero.

Page 20 — Heroes of Mordor, The Betrayer

Change the Betrayer's Master of Poisons special rule to read: 'All
friendly models with the Poisoned Arrows, Poisoned Darts or
Poisoned Blades special rule within 6"/14cm of the Betrayer must
re-roll failed To Wound rolls on a 1 or 2, rather thana 1.

Page 22 - Heroes of Mordor, The Knight of Umbar,

Combat Mimicry

Change the first sentence of the Combat Mimicry entry to read: 'At
the start of the Fight phase, the Knight of Umbar can elect to use
the unmodified Fight, Strength and/or Attack values of any single
opponent in base contact instead of his own.'

Page 24 - Shelob, Venom

Change the special rule’s effects to read: ‘Shelob must re-roll any
failed To Wound rolls when making Strikes in the Fight phase. Note
that this does not apply to Brutal Power Attacks.’

Pages 26 & 48 - Kardash the Firecaller, Profile
Change Kardush the Firecaller's Attacks to 1, and his Wounds to 2.

Page 28 - Black Niimenoérean Marshal, Options
Add the following option:
5 points'

Page 29 - Mordor Orc Taskmaster, Whip of the Masters
Change the first sentence of the special rule’s effects to read: ‘Each
time a Taskmaster, or an Evil Hero within 6” of one or more

Taskmasters, attempts a Heroic Action, roll a D6.’

Page 29 - Spider Queen, Unit Entry
Change to be an Independent Hero.

Page 29 - Spider Queen, Venom

Change the special rule’s effects to read: ‘A Spider Queen must
re-roll any failed To Wound rolls when making Strikes in the Fight
phase. Note that this does not apply to Brutal Power Attacks.’

Page 37 - Great Beast of Gorgoroth
Add the following rules to the Great Beast of Gorgoroth entry:

'Magical Powers and the Great Beast of Gorgoroth. The Great
Beast is immune to the effects of all Transfix, Immobilise, Command/
Compel magical powers - or indeed any other magical powers that
would prevent it from moving normally. These spells can, however,
be directed against the model controlling the Great Beast - in this
case, the Great Beast will be affected instead.

A Sorcerous Blast can inflict damage on the Great Beast but cannot
move it. If a model on the battle platform is hit by a Sorcerous Blast,
it is damaged as normal but not moved. Instead, the controlling
player rolls a D6. On a 1-3, the model is knocked to the ground

on the battle platform. On the roll of a 4-6, the model falls to the
ground below - roll on the Thrown Rider table as normal.'
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Page 37 - Great Beast of Gorgorath
Change the Battle Platform entry to read as follows:

'Battle Platform. The battle platform holds nine Orc Warrior
passengers (see the main rules manual). Orc Warriors on the battle
platform can shoot even if the Great Beast has moved its full speed,
and can shoot (and be shot at) if the Great Beast is engaged in a
Fight. When shooting with or at the Orc passengers, measure from
the nearest edge of the battle platform. If the passengers are shot
at, the firer doesn't need to randomise to see who is hit (as he
would normally for passengers) but hits the nearest model instead,
though he must treat the battle platform as being In the Way. If the
Great Beast's controller is slain, one of the passengers immediately
takes his place, abandoning his bow as he does so. Because the Orc
Warriors on the battle platform are integral models, each time one
is slain, use a marker or dice to remind you that there is one less
passenger. The Great Beast cannot carry any passengers other than
those travelling on the battle platform.

If the Great Beast is slain, roll on the Thrown Rider table for the Orc
Warrior rider and each Orc Warrior remaining on the battle platform.'

Page 37 - Great Beast of Gorgoroth

Change the Only Counts as One entry to read as follows:

'Only Counts as One. The Great Beast of Gorgoroth and its crew
count as a single model in a warband, and a single model for the
purposes of working out your Break Point and the number of bows
in your force. If your army is Broken, unless subject to a friendly
Hero's Stand Fast! rule, make a single Courage test using the Great
Beast's Courage value to see if the model flees from the battlefield

along with its Orc passengers or can be moved normally.’

Page 46 - The Death of Kings, Participants - Evil

Change the entry to read: 'The Witch-king of Angmar™ from the
Mordor army list. The Witch-king of Angmar begins the game with
his full store of Might, Will and Fate (3/20/3) and has a Fell Beast
and a flail. No other options may be taken.'

amendmencs

Whenever a model's special rule entry states 'See main rules
manual', refer to The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey™ rules manual.
Any Heroes with magical powers should use the rules for each of
their powers as described in The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey™ rules
manual. They are also free to expend Might points to cast the more
powerful versions of these powers through Heroic Channelling.

Page 31 - Heroes of Mordor, Cave Drake, Gaping Maw
At the beginning of the second paragraph, add the following
sentence: 'Gaping Maw is a Brutal Power Attack.'

fags

For all FAQs on the Points Match Game Scenarios, please consult
the official FAQs & Errata document for The Hobbit: An Unexpected
Journey™ rules manual.

Optional Upgrades

Q: Can you give models such as Black Niimendreans, Haradrim Warriors
or Wood EIf Warriors more than one title-based upgrade (for example,
can a Wood EIf Warrior be upgraded to a Noldorin Exile that is also a
Mirkwood Guard)? (var.)

A: No.

Adding Allies, Stand Fast!

Q: Can a successful Stand Fast! roll from a Hero in one warband affect
the Courage tests of Warriors from an allies warband? (pg 6)
A: Yes.

Heroes of Mordor

Q: What effect does The One Ring have if Sauron suffers a Wound from
an attack that automatically slays its target, such as a Dragon's Breathe
Fire attack or the King of the Dead's Drain Soul? (pg 17)

A: Sauron is treated as having lost his final Wound, so make a roll
for The One Ring as normal. If he passes, Sauron remains in play
with 1 Wound remaining.

Q: If Sauron has The One Ring and suffers more than one Wound that
would otherwise destroy him, how many rolls would he make for The One
Ring to sustain him on 1 Wound? (pg 17)

A: You only ever roll once, regardless of how many Wounds Sauron
has suffered.

Q: If the Witch-king of Angmar uses his Morgul Blade on the turn he
charges while mounted on a horse/armoured horse, do all his attacks that
turn count as Morgul Blade attacks? (pg 18)

A: Yes.

Q: Can the Witch-king of Angmar's Morgul Blade be used in conjunction
with his Fell Beast's Attacks and Strength characteristics? If so, when he
wins a Fight and knocks his opponent over, will all 6 Attacks benefit from
the Morgul Blade's special rules? (pg 18)

A: No. If you wish to use the Morgul Blade, you must use the Witch-
king of Angmar's Strength and Attacks values, though he may still
double his Attacks if his opponent has been knocked to the ground.

Q: If the Betrayer is riding a Fell Beast and Hurls a model as part of a
Brutal Power Attack, does he re-roll failed rolls To Wound against the
hurled model and/or any other models the hurled model passes through as
a result of his Bane of Kings special rule? (pg 20)

A: No.
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Q: Can Khamill the Easterling's Essence Leech be used in conjunction
with his Fell Beast's Attacks and Strength characteristics? (pg 21)

A: Khamil the Easterling may expend a single point of Will to
increase his own Strength, Fight of Attacks values, not those of
his Fell Beast. However, he will recover a point of Will for each
Wound caused, even if he did so with the aid of his Fell Beast's
characteristics.

Q: If Khamil the Easterling is riding a Fell Beast and Hurls a model as
part of a Brutal Power Attack, does he get a Wound back as part of his
Essence Leech special rule if the hurled model and/or any other models
the hurled model passes through are slain? (pg 21)

A: No.

Q: How does the Dwimmerlaik's Sap Fortitude ability interact with the
Resistant to Magic special rule? (pg 21)

A: The Resistant to Magic special rule does not require the
expenditure of Will points, so the proximity of the Dwimmerlaik
will have no effect.

Q: If the Knight of Umbar calls/is involved in a successful Heroic
Combat but loses a subsequent Fight in the same phase, does his Armour
of the Sundered Land prevent him from having to expend a Will point?

(rg22)
A: No.

Q: If the Knight of Umbar uses his Combat Mimicry special rule, can he
still use the Feint special strike with his sword? (pg 22)
A: Yes.

Q: Which takes precedence between the Shadow Lord's Pall of Darkness
and Legolas' Deadly Shot? (pg 22)

A: When selecting targets within 6" of the Shadow Lord, Legolas™
can choose either to hit automatically with a single shot or he
can fire three times, in which case he will need a score of a 6 to
hit with each.

Q: Does Shagrat, War Leader of Cirith Ungol's shield only knock down
other infantry (he counts as cavalry on a turn that he charges), or can he
knock down cavalry and models above Strength 6? (pg 25)

A: Infantry only.

Q: Can you take Shagrat, War Leader of Cirith Ungol and Shagrat,
Captain of Cirith Ungol in the same force? (pg 25)
A: No.

Q: If a Spider Queen spawns broodlings during a Heroic Move do the
broodlings benefit from the Heroic Move? (pg 29)
A: No.

Q: Does the Spider Queen gain the cavalry charge bonus when charging
whilst in difficult terrain? (pg 29)

A: No. The Spider Queen's rules state that she moves at full

speed through difficult ground, but does not create an exception
for charging.

Q: Can broodlings be launched if the Spider Queen has already been
charged that turn? (pg 29)
A: No, as stated, they can be used within her own move.

Q: Can broodlings be launched during a move following a Heroic
Combat action? (pg 29)
A: No, only during the actual Move phase of the game.

Q: Does a Cave Drake gain the Extra Attack bonus when charging?

(rg 31)
A: No.

Q: If you field The Necromancer, can you upgrade the Orc Warriors on
the battle platform of the Great Beast of Gorgoroth to be Orxcs of Dol
Guldur for 2 points per model (so +20 points)? (pg 32)

A: No.

Q: Can The Necromancer's special rule Drain Soul be combined with his
Chill Soul magical attack? Drain Soul says that any enemy wounded in
close combat is slain outright regardless of the number of Wounds and
Chill Soul says that the target suffers 1 Wound as if wounded in close
combat. (pg 32)

A: Tt just causes a single Wound.

Warriors of Mordor

Q: Warg Riders have lost their Crude Throwing Spears rule, so when
they are dismounted do they keep their throwing spears as opposed to
normal spears? (pg 34)

A: Yes.

Q: Can the A Fell Light Is In Them rule be used to move an enemy
model out of engagement with a friendly model? (pg 36)
A: No.

Q: Can Spectres combine their Spectral Blades with a special strike? (pg
36)
A: No.

Q: If the Great Beast is involved in a successful Heroic Combat, can
it continue to use its Slam rule to inflict further hits if it charges into
combat? (pg 37)

A: Yes.

Q: In an objective-based Scenario such as Hold Ground!, how many
models does a Great Beast of Gorgoroth count as? Are the remaining
Orcs on the battle platform counted toward this total? (pg 37)

A: Tt always counts as one model.

Q: Can a War Drum affect a Miimak's Trample move, increasing its
Movement to 11"? (pg 38)

A: No.
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